GRÜN digitizes the sponsorship administration at Compassion Germany

Compassion Germany manages around 25.000 sponsorships with children from 25 project countries and 30.000 donors. More than 10 million euros in donations are made in GRÜN VEWA processed and exchanged 100.000 sponsorship letters with the sponsored children via Compassion International. Via the connection to the internet software GRÜN eVEWA has giftGRÜN, the digital agency of GRÜN Software Group, created a web portal through which the godparents can write and receive personal letters to their godchildren.

Compassion Germany

International compassion is one of the largest children's aid organizations in the world and works in 25 project countries in Latin America, Asia and Africa with Christian communities and churches to lift children out of poverty. Compassion Germany, based in Marburg, is part of the Compassion International network and arranges sponsorships between German sponsors and children from the 25 project countries. A sponsorship with Compassion Germany includes monthly financial support that benefits the child. In addition, the sponsors and sponsored children write letters to each other several times a year and thus have the opportunity to get to know each other.

100.000 letters per year between godparents and godchildren

Around 25.000 sponsorships have been arranged by Compassion Germany so far. On average, there is correspondence between the godparents and the godchildren four times a year, so that over 100.000 letters are sent back and forth. Around 20% of all letters are sent by the sponsors in German to Compassion in Marburg, the rest in English. The letters are translated by volunteers in the translator portal and then forwarded to Compassion International, where the letters are then translated into the national language and forwarded to the sponsored children in the project countries. The path of the letters from sponsored child to sponsor is the same - only the other way around.

New software as the start of digitization

Compassion International and all associated partner countries have worked with the individual software "Compass" for many years. This was continuously optimized, but reached its limits due to growth, Windows updates and necessary functions for digitization.

Compassion International therefore decided to implement new software solutions as part of digitization. Instead of using a central software as before, the partner countries were asked to implement their own software solutions, which are linked to the new software from Compassion International via an interface. After exploring the market, Compassion Germany decided on the software family GRÜN VEWA.

Interface to Compassion International

In the first step, the delivery of the letters was digitized. about GRÜN eVEWA, the online solution of the GRÜN VEWA software family, a digital service was established between the back office solution VEWA and the new software from Compassion International so that letters can be transmitted digitally. About the communication system of GRÜN VEWA can receive the letters of the sponsored children digitally and forward them to the sponsors. Conversely, all letters from the sponsors are digitally recorded, given a barcode and sent to the project country via Compassion International.

The translation is also managed via the VEWA communication system: If the sponsor wishes the letters of his sponsored child to be translated into German, this information is stored in VEWA with the sponsor. The letters to be translated to these sponsors are forwarded to the eVEWA translator portal via the service interface, where they are translated by the voluntary helpers and then transferred back to the VEWA communications system with the translation.

Data of sponsored children and sponsors migrated to VEWA

The next step in VEWA was the migration of the personal data of all sponsored children and sponsors from the old Compass system. All data from the 30.000 donors and sponsored children were imported into VEWA for this purpose.

All necessary processes from Compassion were mapped in VEWA. Since then, the monthly contributions of the sponsors can be collected by VEWA and booked via the electronic account statement. VEWA manages over 10 million euros per year through this. The donation confirmation and the thank you letters to the sponsors are also automatically created in VEWA and then sent. VEWA also supports Compassion Germany with the automatic reminder of outstanding amounts of promises to pay for sponsorships and donations.

MeinCompassion - The online tool for sponsors

In a further step, the sponsorship letters were raised to a new level of digitization. In collaboration with giftGRÜN, the digital agency of GRÜN Software Group, became the online portal MyCompassion created. All sponsors can register in MeinCompassion with a personal account. The digitally recorded letters from VEWA's communications system can be called up here by the sponsors at any time.

The sponsors can also write new letters easily and conveniently. Letter templates are available here - including Christmas and birthday cards. The letters can be written and sent directly using a writing tool. If necessary, the letters are automatically sent by MeinCompassion to the translator portal and translated. The translator portal was created via an interface in GRÜN eVEWA integrated. The translation and the German original are then sent via VEWA to Compassion International, which forwards these letters to the sponsored children in the project countries. The children's letters are also visible in MeinCompassion, and in MeinCompassion the sponsor can view his or her personal data such as address etc. and, if desired, make changes.

Further expansion of the processes

Compassion Germany will further intensify digitalization in the future and plans, for example, to send push messages to sponsors as soon as new letters arrive. The functionalities for the administration of donors and volunteers in VEWA are also to be further expanded.

Download project report
"Thanks to the digitization by VEWA and the interfaces to MeinCompassion, to the translator portal and to Compassion International, we have succeeded in significantly improving the communication channel for letters between sponsors and sponsored children."

- Andrea Debus
Head of Business Services & Finances at COMPASSION DEUTSCHLAND

Andreas Debus
Contact inquiry
Send us a message if you want to know exactly how our solutions can support you. We are looking forward to your contact
Phone: 0241 18900
Contact inquiry

GRÜN digitalisiert die Patenschafts-Verwaltung bei Compassion Deutschland

Compassion Deutschland managt rund 25.000 Patenschaften mit Kindern aus 25 Projektländern und 30.000 Spendern. Dabei werden über 10 Millionen Euro Spendengelder pro Jahr in GRÜN VEWA verarbeitet und 100.000 Patenbriefe über Compassion International mit den Patenkindern ausgetauscht. Über die Anbindung der Internetsoftware GRÜN eVEWA hat giftGRÜN, die Digitalagentur der GRÜN Software Group, ein Web-Portal erstellt, über das die Paten ihren Patenkindern persönliche Briefe schreiben und empfangen können.

Compassion Deutschland

Compassion International zählt zu den größten Kinderhilfswerken der Welt und arbeitet in 25 Projektländern Lateinamerikas, Asiens und Afrikas mit christlichen Gemeinden und Kirchen zusammen, um Kinder aus der Armut zu befreien. Compassion Deutschland, mit Sitz in Marburg, ist Teil des Verbundes von Compassion International und vermittelt Patenschaften zwischen deutschen Paten und Kindern aus den 25 Projektländern. Eine Patenschaft bei Compassion Deutschland beinhaltet eine monatliche finanzielle Unterstützung, die dem Kind zu Gute kommt. Zudem schreiben sich die Paten und die Patenkinder mehrfach im Jahr Briefe und haben so die Möglichkeit, sich gegenseitig kennenzulernen.

100.000 Briefe pro Jahr zwischen Paten und Patenkindern

Rund 25.000 Patenschaften wurden bisher von Compassion Deutschland vermittelt. Im Schnitt vier Mal pro Jahr findet ein Schriftverkehr zwischen den Paten und den Patenkindern statt, sodass über 100.000 Briefe hin und her geschickt werden. Rund 20% aller Briefe werden von den Paten in Deutsch an Compassion nach Marburg geschickt, der Rest in Englisch. Die Briefe werden im Übersetzer-Portal von ehrenamtlichen Helfern übersetzt und anschließend zu Compassion International weitergeleitet, wo die Briefe dann in die Landessprache übersetzt und in die Projektländer zu den Patenkindern weitergeleitet werden. Der Weg der Briefe vom Patenkind zum Paten verläuft gleich – nur umgekehrt.

Neue Software als Start der Digitalisierung

Compassion International und alle zugehörigen Partnerländer haben viele Jahre mit der Individual-Software „Compass“ gearbeitet. Diese wurde fortlaufend optimiert, stieß jedoch aufgrund des Wachstums, durch Windows-Updates und notwendiger Funktionen zur Digitalisierung an ihre Grenzen.

Compassion International hatte daher beschlossen, im Rahmen der Digitalisierung neue Software-Lösungen zu implementieren. Statt, wie bisher, eine zentrale Software einzusetzen, wurden die Partnerländer aufgefordert, eigene Software-Lösungen zu implementieren, die über eine Schnittstelle mit der neuen Software von Compassion International verbunden sind. Nach einer Marktsondierung entschied sich Compassion Deutschland für die Softwarefamilie GRÜN VEWA.

Schnittstelle zu Compassion International

Im ersten Schritt wurde die Zustellung der Briefe digitalisiert. Über GRÜN eVEWA, die Online-Lösung der GRÜN VEWA-Softwarefamilie, wurde ein digitaler Service zwischen der Backoffice-Lösung VEWA und der neuen Software von Compassion International hergestellt, sodass Briefe digital übermittelt werden können. Über das Kommunikationswesen von GRÜN VEWA können die Briefe der Patenkinder digital empfangen und an die Paten weitergeleitet werden. Umgekehrt werden auch alle Briefe der Paten digital erfasst, mit einem Barcode versehen und über Compassion International ins Projektland versendet.

Über das VEWA-Kommunikationswesen wird auch die Übersetzung gemanagt: Wünscht der Pate eine Übersetzung der Briefe seines Patenkindes ins Deutsche, wird diese Information in VEWA beim Paten hinterlegt. Die zu übersetzende Briefe an diese Paten werden über die Services-Schnittstelle ins Übersetzerportal von eVEWA weitergeleitet, dort von den ehrenamtlichen Helfern übersetzt und abschließend mit der Übersetzung ins VEWA-Kommunikationswesen zurück transferiert.

Daten der Patenkinder und der Paten in VEWA migriert

Im nächsten Schritt stand in VEWA die Migration der persönlichen Daten aller Patenkinder und Paten aus dem Alt-System Compass an. Alle Daten der 30.000 Spender und der Patenkinder wurden hierzu in VEWA importiert.

Alle notwendigen Prozesse von Compassion wurden in VEWA abgebildet. So können die monatlichen Beiträge der Paten seitdem von VEWA eingezogen und über den elektronischen Kontoauszug verbucht werden. Hierüber werden über 10 Millionen Euro pro Jahr von VEWA verwaltet. Auch die Zuwendungsbestätigung und die Dankesbriefe an die Paten werden automatisiert in VEWA erstellt und anschließend verschickt. VEWA unterstützt Compassion Deutschland auch bei der automatischen Erinnerung von ausstehenden Beträgen der Zahlungsversprechen zu Patenschaften und Spenden.

MeinCompassion – Das Online-Tool für Paten

In einem weiteren Schritt wurden die Patenbriefe auf eine neue Stufe der Digitalisierung gehoben. In Zusammenarbeit mit giftGRÜN, der Digitalagentur der GRÜN Software Group, wurde das Online-Portal MeinCompassion erstellt. Mit einem persönlichen Zugang können sich alle Paten in MeinCompassion anmelden. Die digital erfassten Briefe aus dem Kommunikationswesen von VEWA können von den Paten hier jederzeit aufgerufen werden.

Auch können die Paten neue Briefe einfach und bequem schreiben. Hier stehen Briefvorlagen zur Verfügung – unter anderem Weihnachts- und Geburtstagskarten. Über ein Schreibtool können die Briefe verfasst und direkt verschickt werden. Die Briefe werden, falls notwendig, automatisch von MeinCompassion an das Übersetzer-Portal übermittelt und übersetzt. Das Übersetzer-Portal wurde über eine Schnittstelle in GRÜN eVEWA integriert. Die Übersetzung wird anschließend zusammen mit dem deutschen Original über VEWA zu Compassion International geschickt, die diese Briefe an die Patenkinder in den Projektländern weiterleitet. Im MeinCompassion sind auch die Kinderbriefe sichtbar und im MeinCompassion kann der Pate seine persönliche Daten wie Adresse etc. einsehen und auf Wunsch Änderungen veranlassen.

Weiterer Ausbau der Prozesse

Compassion Deutschland wird in Zukunft die Digitalsierung weiter intensivieren und plant beispielsweise das Verschicken von Push-Nachrichten an die Paten, sobald neue Briefe eintreffen. Auch sollen die Funktionalitäten zur Verwaltung der Spender und Ehrenamtlichen in VEWA weiter ausgebaut werden.

"Dank der Digitalisierung durch VEWA und den Schnittstellen zu MeinCompassion, zum Übersetzerportal und zu Compassion International ist es gelungen, den Kommunikationsweg der Briefe zwischen Paten und Patenkindern entscheidend zu verbessern."

— Andrea Debus

Andreas Debus
Kontaktanfrage
Schicken Sie uns eine Nachricht, wenn Sie genau wissen wollen, wie unsere Lösungen Sie unterstützen können. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme
Telefon: 0241 18900
Kontaktanfrage