VEWA as seminar administration for students and employees of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences offers its 14.000 students and 1.300 employees a variety of seminars. These seminars are done entirely through the software family GRÜN VEWA managed and administered. The booking workflow for students and employees was made via the online solution GRÜN eVEWA, which our digital agency giftGRÜN integrated into the new booking platform eventHOS.

The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences is the largest and most powerful university for applied sciences in Lower Saxony. With 14.000 students and 1.300 employees, the university offers around 100 bachelor, master and advanced training courses. The university has done pioneering work in many areas of academic education - for example in the establishment of new courses - and has thus also earned the reputation of an innovative and progressive university.

In addition to the lectures in the individual subjects, the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences offers additional seminars for students, teachers and employees. These include, for example, preparatory courses, excursions or additional and further training courses.

starting position

For a long time, seminars at Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences were administered using various individual solutions. These individual solutions were individually created and supported by a developer. Due to the rapid growth, the different requirements of the organizational units and the enormous importance of professional data protection, the individual solutions reached their limits. This is why the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences decided to introduce a new, professional seminar management system. After researching the market and an extensive invitation to tender, the university decided in favor of the Seminar administration GRÜN VEWA.

The seminar administration at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

All seminars are created by the administration of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. Basic information such as the date of the event, the seminar location, speakers, the fee, the duration or the maximum number of participants are set. A status defines the target groups for which the seminars can be booked.

There are several target groups at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences, as it is divided into different organizational units. Organizational units that use the software are, for example, the further education facility of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences (Professional School), the learning center, personnel development and the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and Landscape Architecture. Each organizational unit has different target groups and applications. The Professional School offers scientific advanced training seminars for external parties, while Personnel Development manages a range of specialist and interdisciplinary training courses for employees from various university-internal departments.

The seminars are laid out in outlines. The advantage: Students, lecturers and employees can view available seminars in all organizational units and book events depending on their status. With a classic client system that is often used in different organizational units, all seminar participants would have had to re-register with each organizational unit.

New booking platform eventHOS

If the seminars are set in VEWA, they are saved via the VEWA connector on eventHOS, the new booking website of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. At eventHOS, students, teachers and employees can view all seminars and find suitable seminars using a search with detailed filters.

Seminars can be booked online at eventHOS. The seminars that external participants without university identification can also book are displayed on the homepage. The booking of the seminars is therefore dependent on the status of the person making the booking, even for internal seminars. For example, students cannot book HR development seminars. For example, mechanical engineering students cannot book seminars at the Learning Center, which is reserved for business psychology students. This is where the status information stored in VEWA comes into play. Students and lecturers can use the login button on eventHOS to register with a university ID via a “Single Sign On”. Further seminars are offered in this closed area.

For registration in the seminar area for participants with university identification and for online bookings in both areas, the Online seminar management GRÜN eVEWA for use.

The eventHOS booking website was created by giftGRÜN, the digital agency of GRÜN Software Group, with the Enterprise CMS TYPO3 created.

Extensive automation of seminar registrations

After registering via eVEWA, the seminar participants must continue to be managed in VEWA. Individual workflows were implemented for the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences, which enable a high degree of automation.

When participants register for a seminar, they land directly on the participant list and automatically receive an invoice. In the organizational units that offer internal events, participants are initially placed on a waiting list. Admission to the seminar is based on known and transparent selection criteria that are controlled by VEWA.

There are also seminars in which the participants are determined by driving off. For example, in personnel development, where all those who have registered should have the same chance of participating. For this purpose, a lottery procedure was implemented in VEWA, which draws the participants by random generator and then sends corresponding messages to the participants and people on the waiting list or the rejection list.

Further expansion of the seminar administration GRÜN VEWA

The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences is planning to expand the seminar administration and would like to map more complex conferences via VEWA in the future. A performance-related billing should be implemented here so that multi-day conferences with additional options such as a conference dinner or material can also be billed.

"With the introduction of VEWA, the data of participants can be managed securely in accordance with data protection law. Thanks to the self-service options provided by eVEWA, participants can now edit their event data independently."

- Philipp Schickl
Managing Director of the Professional School of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Philipp Schickl
Contact inquiry
Send us a message if you want to know exactly how our solutions can support you. We are looking forward to your contact
Phone: 0241 18900
Contact inquiry

VEWA als Seminarverwaltung für Studierende und Mitarbeiter*innen der Hochschule Osnabrück

Die Hochschule Osnabrück bietet ihren 14.000 Student*innen und 1.300 Mitarbeiter*innen eine Vielzahl von Seminaren an. Diese Seminare werden komplett über die Softwarefamilie GRÜN VEWA gemanagt und verwaltet. Der Buchungsworkflow für Studierende und Mitarbeiter*innen wurde über die Online-Lösung GRÜN eVEWA realisiert, die unsere Digitalagentur giftGRÜN auf der neuen Buchungsplattform eventHOS integriert hat.

Die Hochschule Osnabrück

Die Hochschule Osnabrück ist die größte und leistungsstärkste Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften in Niedersachsen. Mit 14.000 Studierenden und 1.300 Mitarbeiter*innen bietet die Hochschule rund 100 Studiengänge im Bachelor-, Master- und Weiterbildungsbereich an. Auf vielen Gebieten der akademischen Bildung hat die Hochschule Pionierarbeit geleistet – etwa bei der Etablierung neuer Studiengänge – und sich damit auch den Ruf einer innovativen und fortschrittlichen Hochschule erarbeitet.

Neben den Vorlesungen der einzelnen Studienfächer bietet die Hochschule Osnabrück ergänzende Seminare für Studierende, Lehrende und Mitarbeiter*innen an. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Vorbereitungskurse, Exkursionen oder Zusatz- und Weiterbildungskurse.

Ausgangslage

In der Hochschule Osnabrück wurden Seminare lange über verschiedene Einzellösungen verwaltet. Diese Einzellösungen wurden von einem Entwickler individuell erstellt und betreut. Aufgrund des rasanten Wachstums, der unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der Organisationseinheiten und der enormen Bedeutung eines professionellen Datenschutzes stießen die Einzellösungen an ihre Grenzen. Daher entschied sich die Hochschule Osnabrück zur Einführung einer neuen, professionellen Seminarverwaltung. Nach einer Marktsondierung und einer umfangreichen Ausschreibung entschied sich die Hochschule für die Seminarverwaltung GRÜN VEWA.

Die Seminarverwaltung an der Hochschule Osnabrück

Alle Seminare werden seitens der Verwaltung der Hochschule Osnabrück angelegt. Dabei werden Basis-Informationen wie das Datum der Veranstaltung, der Seminarort, Referent*innen, die Gebühr, die Dauer oder auch die maximale Teilnehmer*innenanzahl eingestellt. Durch einen Status wird definiert, für welche Zielgruppen die Seminare jeweils buchbar sind.

Zielgruppen gibt es in der Hochschule Osnabrück mehrere, da diese in unterschiedliche Organisationseinheiten unterteilt ist. Organisationseinheiten, die die Software nutzen sind beispielsweise die Weiterbildungseinrichtung der Hochschule Osnabrück (Professional School), das Learning Center, die Personalentwicklung sowie die Fakultät Agrarwissenschaften und Landschaftsarchitektur. Jede Organisationseinheit hat dabei unterschiedliche Zielgruppen und Anwendungen. So bietet die Professional School wissenschaftliche Weiterbildungsseminare für Externe an, während die Personalentwicklung ein Angebot fachlicher und überfachlicher Schulungen für Mitarbeiter*innen unterschiedlicher hochschulinterner Bereiche managt.

Die Seminare werden in Gliederungen angelegt. Der Vorteil: Studierende, Lehrende und Mitarbeiter*innen können in allen Organisationseinheiten verfügbare Seminare einsehen und je nach Status Veranstaltungen buchen. Bei einem klassischen Mandantensystem, das bei verschiedenen Organisationseinheiten oftmals zum Einsatz kommt, hätten sich alle Seminarteilnehmer bei jeder Organisationseinheit neu registrieren müssen.

Neue Buchungsplattform eventHOS

Sind die Seminare in VEWA eingestellt, werden diese über den VEWA-Connector auf eventHOS, der neuen Buchungswebsite der Hochschule Osnabrück, angezeigt. Auf eventHOS können Studierende, Lehrende und Mitarbeiter*innen alle Seminare einsehen und über eine Suche mit detaillierten Filtern passende Seminare finden.

Seminare können online auf eventHOS gebucht werden. Auf der Startseite werden die Seminare angezeigt, die auch externe Teilnehmer*innen ohne Hochschulkennung buchen können. Das Buchen der Seminare ist somit abhängig vom Status des Buchenden, auch bei internen Seminaren. Studierende können beispielsweise keine Seminare aus der Personalentwicklung buchen. Auch können beispielsweise Studierende des Studiengangs Maschinenbau keine Seminare des Learning Centers buchen, das den Studenten der Wirtschaftspsychologie vorbehalten ist. Hier greifen die in VEWA hinterlegten Informationen zum Status. Über den Login-Button auf eventHOS können sich die Student*innen und Lehrenden mit Hochschulkennung über ein „Single Sign On“ anmelden. In diesem geschlossenen Bereich werden weitere Seminare angeboten.

Für die Anmeldung in den Bereich der Seminare für Teilnehmende mit Hochschulkennung und für Online-Buchungen in beiden Bereichen kommt die Online-Seminarverwaltung GRÜN eVEWA zum Einsatz.

Die Buchungswebsite eventHOS wurde von giftGRÜN, der Digitalagentur der GRÜN Software Group, mit dem Enterprise CMS TYPO3 erstellt.

Umfangreiche Automatisierung der Seminaranmeldungen

Nach der Anmeldung über eVEWA müssen die Seminarteilnehmer*innen in VEWA weiter verwaltet werden. Für die Hochschule Osnabrück wurden dabei individuelle Workflows implementiert, die einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad ermöglichen.

Wenn sich Teilnehmer*innen zu einem Seminar anmelden, landen diese direkt auf der Teilnehmerliste und bekommen automatisiert eine Rechnung zugeschickt. Bei den Organisationseinheiten, die interne Veranstaltungen anbieten, werden Teilnehmer*innen zunächst auf eine Warteliste gesetzt. Die Zulassung zum Seminar erfolgt nach bekannten und transparenten Auswahlkriterien, die über VEWA gesteuert werden.

Auch gibt es Seminare, bei denen die Teilnehmer*innen über ein Losfahren ermittelt werden. So beispielsweise in der Personalentwicklung, bei der alle Angemeldeten die gleiche Chance auf eine Teilnahme haben sollen. Hierzu wurde in VEWA ein Los-verfahren implementiert, das per Zufallsgenerator die Teilnehmer*innen auslost und anschließend entsprechende Nachrichten an die Teilnehmer*innen und Personen auf der Warteliste bzw. der Absagenliste verschickt.

Weiterer Ausbau der Seminarverwaltung GRÜN VEWA

Die Hochschule Osnabrück plant den Ausbau der Seminarverwaltung und möchte zukünftig komplexere Tagungen über VEWA abbilden. Hierin soll eine leistungsbezogene Abrechnung realisiert werden, sodass auch mehrtätige Tagungen mit Zusatzoptionen wie beispielsweise einem Conference Dinner oder Material abgerechnet werden kann.

"Durch die Einführung von VEWA können die Daten von Teilnehmer*innen datenschutzrechtlich sicher verwaltet werden. Dank der Möglichkeiten im Self-Service von eVEWA können Teilnehmer*innen nun ihre Veranstaltungsdaten eigenständig bearbeiten"

— Philipp Schick
Geschäftsführer der Professional School der Hochschule Osnabrück

Philipp Schickl
Kontaktanfrage
Schicken Sie uns eine Nachricht, wenn Sie genau wissen wollen, wie unsere Lösungen Sie unterstützen können. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme
Telefon: 0241 18900
Kontaktanfrage