VEWA as seminar management for 16.000 students and employees of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences offers its 15.000 students and 1.300 employees a variety of seminars. These seminars are entirely about the software family GRÜN VEWA managed. Via the seminar management GRÜN VEWA, the seminars are created and the seminar participation is managed. The booking workflow for students and employees was made via the online solution GRÜN eVEWA, which our digital agency giftGRÜN integrated into the new booking platform eventHOS.

The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences is the largest and most powerful university for applied sciences in Lower Saxony. With 15.000 students and 1.000 employees, the university offers around 100 bachelor, master and advanced training courses. The university has done pioneering work in many areas of academic education - for example in the establishment of new courses - and has thus also earned the reputation of an innovative and progressive university.

In addition to the lectures in the individual subjects, the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences offers additional seminars for all students, teachers and administrators. These include, for example, preparatory courses, excursions or additional and further training courses.

starting position

At the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences, seminars have long been administered using various individual solutions. These individual solutions were individually created and supported by a developer. Due to the rapid growth, the different requirements of the four organizational units and the enormous importance of professional data protection, the individual solutions reached their limits. The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences therefore decided to introduce a new, professional seminar management system. After researching the market and an extensive invitation to tender, the university decided on the Seminar administration GRÜN VEWA.

The seminar administration at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

All seminars are created by the administrators of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. Basic information such as the date of the event, the seminar location, speakers, the fee, the duration or the maximum number of participants are set. The seminar is also informed via a status which target group can book this seminar.

There are several target groups at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences, as it is divided into four organizational units. As an organizational unit there is the Professional School, the Learning Center, Personnel Development and the Faculty of Agriculture. Each organizational unit has different target groups and applications. The Professional School offers scientific advanced training seminars for external parties, while Personnel Development manages the technical and interdisciplinary training of all administrators in the various areas.

The seminars are laid out in outlines. The advantage: All students, teachers and administrators can view seminars available in all organizational units and book them depending on the status of the event. With a classic client system, which is often used in different organizational units, all seminar participants would have had to re-register with each organizational unit.

New booking platform eventHOS

If the seminars are set in VEWA, they are saved via the VEWA connector on eventHOS, the new booking website of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. At eventHOS, students, teachers and administrators can view all seminars and find suitable seminars using a search with detailed filters.

Seminars can be booked online at eventHOS. The seminars that external participants without university ID can also book are displayed on the homepage. The booking of the seminars is therefore dependent on the status of the person making the booking, even for internal seminars. For example, students cannot book HR development seminars. For example, mechanical engineering students cannot book seminars at the Learning Center, which is reserved for business psychology students. This is where the status information stored in VEWA comes into play. Students and lecturers can use the login button on eventHOS to register with a university ID via a single sign-on. Further seminars are offered in this closed area.

For registration in the seminar area for participants with university identification and for online booking in both areas, the Online seminar management GRÜN eVEWA for use.

The eventHOS booking website was created by giftGRÜN, the digital agency of GRÜN Software Group, with the Enterprise CMS TYPO3 created.

Extensive automation of seminar registrations

After registering via eVEWA, the seminar participants must continue to be managed in VEWA. Individual workflows were implemented for the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences, which enable a high degree of automation.

When participants register for a seminar, they land directly on the participant list and automatically receive an invoice.

In the organizational units that offer internal events, all participants end up on a waiting list. Admission to the seminar is based on known and transparent selection criteria that are controlled by VEWA.

There are also seminars in which the participants are determined by driving off. For example, in personnel development, where all those who have registered should have the same chance of participating. For this purpose, a lottery procedure was implemented in VEWA, which draws the participants by random generator and then sends corresponding messages to the participants and people on the waiting list or the rejection list.

Further expansion of the seminar administration GRÜN VEWA

The Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences is planning to expand the seminar administration and would like to map more complex conferences via VEWA in the future. A performance-related billing is to be implemented here so that multi-day conferences with optional additional options such as a conference dinner or material can also be billed.

"With the introduction of VEWA, the data of participants can be safely managed in terms of data protection law. Thanks to the self-service options of eVEWA, participants can now edit their event data independently"

- Philipp Schick
Managing Director of the Professional School of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Philipp Schickl
Contact inquiry
Send us a message if you want to know exactly how our solutions can support you. We are looking forward to your contact
Phone: 0241 18900
Contact inquiry

VEWA als Seminarverwaltung für 16.000 Studierende und Mitarbeiter der Hochschule Osnabrück

Die Hochschule Osnabrück bietet ihren 15.000 Studenten und 1.300 Mitarbeitern eine Vielzahl von Seminaren an. Diese Seminare werden komplett über die Softwarefamilie GRÜN VEWA gemanagt. Über die Seminarverwaltung GRÜN VEWA werden die Seminare angelegt und die Seminarteilnahmen gemanagt. Der Buchungsworkflow für Studierende und Mitarbeiter wurde über die Online-Lösung GRÜN eVEWA realisiert, die unsere Digitalagentur giftGRÜN auf der neuen Buchungsplattform eventHOS integriert hat.

Die Hochschule Osnabrück

Die Hochschule Osnabrück ist die größte und leistungsstärkste Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften in Niedersachsen. Mit 15.000 Studierenden und 1.000 Mitarbeitern bietet die Hochschule rund 100 Studiengängen im Bachelor-, Master- und Weiterbildungsbereich an. Auf vielen Gebieten der akademischen Bildung hat die Hochschule Pionierarbeit geleistet – etwa bei der Etablierung neuer Studiengänge – und sich damit auch den Ruf einer innovativen und fortschrittlichen Hochschule erarbeitet hat.

Neben den Vorlesungen der einzelnen Studienfächer bietet die Hochschule Osnabrück ergänzende Seminare für alle Studierenden, Lehrenden und Verwaltenden an. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Vorbereitungskurse, Exkursionen oder Zusatz- und Weiterbildungskurse.

Ausgangslage

In der Hochschule Osnabrück wurden Seminare lange über verschiedene Einzellösungen verwaltet. Diese Einzellösungen wurden von einem Entwickler individuell erstellt und betreut. Aufgrund des rasanten Wachstums, der unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der vier Organisationseinheiten und der enormen Bedeutung eines professionellen Datenschutzes stießen die Einzellösungen an ihre Grenzen. Daher entschied sich die Hochschule Osnabrück zur Einführung einer neuen, professionellen Seminarverwaltung. Nach einer Marktsondierung und einer umfangreichen Ausschreibung entschied sich die Hochschule für die Seminarverwaltung GRÜN VEWA.

Die Seminarverwaltung an der Hochschule Osnabrück

Alle Seminare werden von den Verwaltenden der Hochschule Osnabrück angelegt. Dabei werden Basis-Informationen wie das Datum der Veranstaltung, der Seminarort, Referenten, die Gebühr, die Dauer oder auch die maximale Anzahl an Teilnehmenden eingestellt. Auch wird dem Seminar über einen Status mitgeteilt, welche Zielgruppe dieses Seminar buchen darf.

Zielgruppen gibt es in der Hochschule Osnabrück mehrere, da diese in vier Organisationseinheiten unterteilt ist. Als Organisationseinheit gibt es die Professional School, das Learning Center, die Personalentwicklung und die Fakultät für Agrar- und Landwirtschaft. Jede Organisationseinheit hat dabei unterschiedliche Zielgruppen und Anwendungen. So bietet die Professional School wissenschaftliche Weiterbildungsseminare für Externe, während die Personalentwicklung die fachliche und überfachliche Schulung aller Verwaltenden in den unterschiedlichen Bereichen managt.

Die Seminare werden in Gliederungen angelegt. Der Vorteil: Alle Studierende, Lehrende und Verwaltende können in allen Organisationseinheiten verfügbare Seminare einsehen und je nach Status der Veranstaltung buchen. Bei einem klassisches Mandantensystem, das bei verschiedenen Organisationseinheiten oftmals zum Einsatz kommt, hätten sich alle Seminarteilnehmer bei jeder Organisationseinheit neu registrieren müssen.

Neue Buchungsplattform eventHOS

Sind die Seminare in VEWA eingestellt, werden diese über den VEWA-Connector auf eventHOS, der neuen Buchungswegsite der Hochschule Osnabrück, angezeigt. Auf eventHOS können Studierende, Lehrende und Verwaltende alle Seminare einsehen und über eine Suche mit detaillierten Filtern passende Seminare finden.

Seminare können online auf eventHOS gebucht werden. Auf der Startseite werden die Seminare angezeigt, die auch externe Teilnehmende ohne Hochschulkennung buchen können. Das Buchen der Seminare ist somit abhängig vom Status des Buchenden, auch bei internen Seminaren. Studierende können beispielsweise keine Seminare aus der Personalentwicklung buchen. Auch können beispielsweise Studierende des Studiengangs Maschinenbau keine Seminare des Learning Centers buchen, das den Studenten der Wirtschaftspsychologie vorbehalten ist. Hier greifen die in VEWA hinterlegten Informationen zum Status. Über den Login-Button auf eventHOS können sich die Studenten und Lehrenden mit Hochschulkennung über ein Single Sign On anmelden. In diesem geschlossenen Bereich werden weitere Seminare angeboten.

Für die Anmeldung in den Bereich der Seminare für Teilnehmende mit Hochschulkennung und für Online-Buchung in beiden Bereichen kommt die Online-Seminarverwaltung GRÜN eVEWA zum Einsatz.

Die Buchungswebsite eventHOS wurde von giftGRÜN, der Digitalagentur der GRÜN Software Group, mit dem Enterprise CMS TYPO3 erstellt.

Umfangreiche Automatisierung der Seminaranmeldungen

Nach der Anmeldung über eVEWA müssen die Seminarteilnehmenden in VEWA weiter verwaltet werden. Für die Hochschule Osnabrück wurden dabei individuelle Workflows implementiert, die einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad ermöglichen.

Wenn sich Teilnehmende zu einem Seminar anmelden, landen diese direkt auf der Teilnehmerliste und bekommen automatisiert eine Rechnung zugeschickt.

Bei den Organisationseinheiten, die interne Veranstaltungen anbieten, landen alle Teilnehmer auf einer Warteliste. Die Zulassung zum Seminar erfolgt nach bekannten und transparenten Auswahlkriterien, die über VEWA gesteuert werden.

Auch gibt es Seminare, bei denen die Teilnehmenden über ein Losfahren ermittelt werden. So beispielsweise in der Personalentwicklung, bei der alle Angemeldeten die gleiche Chance auf eine Teilnahme haben sollen. Hierzu wurde in VEWA ein Losverfahren implementiert, das per Zufallsgenerator die Teilnehmenden auslost und anschließend entsprechende Nachrichten an die Teilnehmenden und Personen auf der Warteliste bzw. der Absagenliste verschickt.

Weiterer Ausbau der Seminarverwaltung GRÜN VEWA

Die Hochschule Osnabrück plant den Ausbau der Seminarverwaltung und möchte zukünftig komplexere Tagungen über VEWA abbilden. Hierin soll eine leistungsbezogene Abrechnung realisiert werden, sodass auch mehrtätige Tagungen mit optionalen Zusatzoptionen wie einem Conference Dinner oder Material abgerechnet werden kann.

"Durch die Einführung von VEWA können die Daten von Teilnehmenden datenschutzrechtlich sicher verwaltet werden. Dank der Möglichkeiten im Self-Service von eVEWA können Teilnehmende nun ihre Veranstaltungsdaten eigenständig bearbeiten"

— Philipp Schick
Geschäftsführer der Professional School der Hochschule Osnabrück

Philipp Schickl
Kontaktanfrage
Schicken Sie uns eine Nachricht, wenn Sie genau wissen wollen, wie unsere Lösungen Sie unterstützen können. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme
Telefon: 0241 18900
Kontaktanfrage