A progressive web app supports the RWTH Aachen University Hospital in onboarding new employees

Over 100 new employees per month in the RWTH Aachen University Hospital. Progressive web app as a digital tool for onboarding new employees. Gamification approach in the app to get to know the new employer in a playful way. WordPress as a content management system for maintaining the content in the Progressive Web App.

The RWTH Aachen University Hospital is one of the largest employers in Aachen and is located in one of the largest hospital buildings in Europe. Over 8.500 employees in 36 institutes and 25 specialist clinics take care of the well-being of the patients here - and around 100 new employees are added every month in administration, medicine and nursing. In some months, for example when new trainees start in spring or autumn, this number is a lot higher.

New employees - no matter how experienced or qualified they are - must be trained via onboarding. Such an onboarding process has a major impact on the further development and productivity of new employees. It is decided whether new employees feel welcome, enjoy working and integrate well into the team. The time required for onboarding is very high, as many future employees are new to Aachen. The University Clinic RWTH Aachen operates a national recruiting, so that in addition to information about the new employer as part of the onboarding, content about the new home Aachen and about leisure activities are offered. To support onboarding, the RWTH Aachen University Hospital has so far relied on a printed pocket guide. When changes were made, however, a new print run often had to be implemented. Hence the idea of ​​implementing a digital solution to support onboarding.

giftGRÜN, the digital agency of GRÜN Software Group, has started an innovation project together with the university clinic to make it easier for new employees to get started. There were two important areas in this project: The Data protection for new employees and the Ease of use of the application.

Progressive Web App uses local storage of smartphones

As a solution giftGRÜN a Progressive Web App (PWA) programmed. A progressive web app is an HTML5-based website that has numerous features that were previously reserved for native apps. A progressive web app can be easily and conveniently installed on both iOS and Android devices via the "Add-To-Homescreen". A so-called manifest file then generates the splash screen with icon known from apps on the smartphone.

An advantage of the PWA, which is particularly relevant for the solution for the RWTH Aachen University Hospital: the caching function of the so-called service workers means that content that has been accessed is also available offline. This feature is also reminiscent of native apps that do not require an internet connection. Progressive web apps consequently pursue an offline-first approach and use the local storage of smartphones. This ensures maximum data protection, as the data of all new employees at the RWTH Aachen University Hospital are only saved on their own smartphones.

Digital onboarding of new employees

If an applicant receives an acceptance from the Aachen University Clinic, they will receive a link via which the PWA can be saved and used locally on their own smartphone. No registration is required. The first time it is called up, for example, the date of the first working day can be entered. Each time the onboarding PWA is started, the PWA shows the new employee the number of days until the start in a countdown. "As a rule, 6-8 weeks pass between the acceptance and the start," says Dr. Mathias Brandstädter, press spokesman for the RWTH Aachen University Hospital. "During this time, the new employees have the opportunity to get to know their new employer."

Another highlight of the onboarding PWA at the RWTH Aachen University Hospital is the use of gamification elements that playfully encourage new employees to use. When starting the PWA, a progress bar is displayed, which of course is at 0 when started for the first time. By reading chapters within the PWA and solving associated multiple-choice questions, learning progress is increased and the progress bar grows. The learning progress is of course only saved on your own smartphone.

Even after the first day at work, the PWA is still of great benefit to the new employees. The onboarding tool provides important functions that are extremely important after the first day of work. “New employees have a very high need for information, especially at the beginning. With the PWA, you always have a phone book or a route plan with you digitally ”, Brandstädter mentions as a further benefit.

Content maintenance via WordPress

The contents of the PWA are easy and convenient to maintain for administrators at the RWTH Aachen University Hospital. The well-known content management system comes in the background WordPress used to add or change content. The digital agency giftGRÜN has created a PWA custom theme based on a layout provided by the RWTH Aachen University Hospital, which is based on the RWTH Aachen University Hospital's corporate design with high usability for the new employees. Thanks to the existing plugins, the PWA can be expanded as required. And here Brandstädter already has the first ideas, ranging from a car sharing agency to the sale of products to information from the “bulletin board”.

+8.500

Employees at the University Hospital Aachen

+100

new employees per month

1

Digital onboarding tool

"The Progressive Web App is the ideal tool for our digital onboarding tool. The programming effort for native iOS and Android apps would have been significantly higher. And every change would have had to be made in two systems. The PWA is the ideal compromise, both in terms of functionality for the user and for us in terms of maintenance via the WordPress backend. "

- Dr. Mathias Brandstädter, Press Spokesman / Head of Corporate Communication & Marketing, University Hospital RWTH Aachen (AöR)

Dr. Mathias Brandstädter

Key facts


Progressive Web App

One app for all systems - progressive web apps use the local storage of smartphones.

WordPress

The content of the Progressive Web App is created and edited using the WordPress content management system.

Privacy Policy

The data protection of the new employees is guaranteed, as all PWA data is stored locally on your own smartphone.

Gamification

The use of gamification elements playfully encourages new employees to use the onboarding PWA.

Contact inquiry
Send us a message if you want to know more about our references. We look forward to your Contact.
Contact inquiry

Eine Progressive Web App unterstützt die Uniklinik RWTH Aachen beim Onboarding neuer Mitarbeitender

Über 100 neue Beschäftigte im Monat in der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen. Progressive Web App als digitales Tool zum Onboarding für neue Mitarbeitende. Gamification-Ansatz in der App zum spielerischen Kennenlernen des neues Arbeitgebers. WordPress als Content Management System zur Pflege der Inhalte in der Progressive Web App.

Die Uniklinik RWTH Aachen zählt zu den größten Arbeitgebern in Aachen und befindet sich in einem der größten Krankenhausgebäude Europas. Über 8.500 Mitarbeiter in 36 Instituten und 25 Fachkliniken kümmern sich hier um das Wohl der Patienten – und jeden Monat kommen rund 100 neue Mitarbeitende in der Verwaltung, der Medizin und der Pflege hinzu. In manchen Monaten, wenn beispielsweise im Frühjahr oder im Herbst neue Auszubildende starten, ist diese Zahl um einiges höher.

Neue Mitarbeitende – egal wie erfahren oder qualifiziert diese sind – müssen über ein Onboarding eingearbeitet werden. Ein solcher Onboarding-Prozess hat einen großen Einfluss auf die weitere Entwicklung und die Produktivität der neuen Mitarbeitenden. Es entscheidet sich, ob sich neue Mitarbeitende willkommen fühlen, gerne mitarbeiten und sich gut ins Team integrieren. Der Zeitaufwand für das Onboarding ist sehr hoch, da viele zukünftige Mitarbeitenden neu in Aachen sind. Die Uniklinik RWTH Aachen betreibt ein nationales Recruiting, sodass neben den Informationen zum neuen Arbeitgeber im Rahmen des Onboardings auch Inhalte zur neuen Heimat Aachen und über Freizeitangebote angeboten werden. Zur Unterstützung des Onboardings hat die Uniklinik RWTH Aachen bislang auf einen gedruckten Pocket Guide gesetzt. Bei Änderungen musste jedoch oftmals eine neue Druckauflage realisiert werden. Daher entstand die Idee, eine digitale Lösung zur Unterstützung im Onboarding zu implementieren.

giftGRÜN, die Digitalagentur der GRÜN Software Group, hat gemeinsam mit der Uniklinik ein Innovationsprojekt gestartet, das den neuen Mitarbeitenden den Einstieg vorab erleichtern soll. In diesem Projekt gab es zwei wichtige Bereiche: Der Datenschutz der neuen Mitarbeitenden und die Benutzerfreundlichkeit der Anwendung.

Progressive Web App nutzt Local Storage von Smartphones

Als Lösung hat giftGRÜN eine Progressive Web App (PWA) programmiert. Eine Progressive Web App ist eine Website auf HTML5-Basis, die zahlreiche Merkmale besitzt, die bislang nativen Apps vorbehalten waren. Eine Progressive Web App kann einfach und bequem über den „Add-To-Homescreen“ sowohl auf iOS- als auch auf Android-Geräten installiert werden. Eine sogenannte Manifest-Datei erzeugt daraufhin auf dem Smartphone den von Apps bekannten Splash-Screen mit Icon.

Ein Vorteil der PWA, der gerade bei der Lösung für die Uniklinik RWTH Aachen relevant ist: Mittels der Caching-Funktion der sogenannten Service Worker stehen einmal abgerufene Inhalte auch offline zur Verfügung. Auch dieses Merkmal erinnert an native Apps, die keine Internetverbindung voraussetzen. Progressive Web Apps verfolgen somit konsequent einen Offline-first-Ansatz und nutzen den Local Storage der Smartphones. Dadurch ist der maximale Datenschutz gewährleistet, da Daten aller neuen Mitarbeitenden der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen ausschließlich auf dem eigenen Smartphone gespeichert werden.

Digitales Onboarding neuer Mitarbeitender

Erhält ein Bewerber eine Zusage von der Aachener Uniklinik, bekommt dieser einen Link zugeschickt, über den die PWA lokal auf dem eigenen Smartphone gespeichert und genutzt werden kann. Es ist keine Registrierung erforderlich. Beim ersten Aufruf kann aber beispielsweise das Datum des ersten Arbeitstages eingegeben werden. Die PWA zeigt dem neuen Mitarbeitenden bei jedem Start der Onboarding-PWA die Anzahl der Tage bis zum Start in einem Countdown an. „Zwischen der Zusage und dem Start vergehen in der Regel 6-8 Wochen“, weiß Dr. Mathias Brandstädter, Pressesprecher der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen. „In dieser Zeit haben die neuen Mitarbeitenden die Möglichkeit, ihren neuen Arbeitgeber kennenzulernen.“

Ein weiteres Highlight der Onboarding-PWA der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen ist die Verwendung von Gamification-Elementen, die die neuen Mitarbeitenden spielerisch zu einer Nutzung animieren. Beim Start der PWA wird ein Fortschrittsbalken angezeigt, der beim ersten Start natürlich bei 0 steht. Durch das Lesen von Kapiteln innerhalb der PWA und durch das Lösen zugehöriger Multiple-Choice-Fragen wird der Lernfortschritt erhöht und der Fortschrittsbalken wächst an. Der Lernfortschritt wird natürlich auch ausschließlich auf dem eigenen Smartphone gespeichert.

Die PWA hat auch nach dem ersten Arbeitstag noch einen hohen Nutzen für die neuen Mitarbeitenden. Das Onboarding-Tool hält wichtige Funktionen bereit, die nach dem ersten Arbeitstag enorm wichtig sind. „Gerade am Anfang ist der Informationsbedarf der neuen Mitarbeitenden sehr hoch. Über die PWA hat man ein Telefonbuch oder einen Wegeleitplan ständig digital bei sich“, nennt Brandstädter als weiteren Nutzen.

Content-Pflege über WordPress

Die Inhalte der PWA sind für die Verwaltenden der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen einfach und bequem pflegbar. Im Hintergrund kommt das bekannte Content Management System WordPress zum Einsatz, über die Inhalte ergänzt oder geändert werden können. Die Digitalagentur giftGRÜN hat hierfür auf Basis eines seitens der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen gelieferten Layouts ein PWA Custom Theme erstellt, das sich mit hoher Usability für die neuen Mitarbeitenden am Corporate Design der Uniklinik RWTH Aachen orientiert. Dank der vorhandenen Plugins kann die PWA beliebig erweitert werden. Und hier hat Brandstädter auch schon erste Ideen, die von einer Mitfahrzentrale, über den Verkauf von Produkten bis hin zu Informationen vom „Schwarzen Brett“ reichen.

+8.500

Mitarbeitende beim Universitätsklinikum Aachen

+100

neue Mitarbeitende pro Monat

1

Digitales Onboarding-Tool

"Die Progressive Web App ist das ideale Tool für unser digitales Onboarding-Tool. Der Programmieraufwand für native iOS- und Android-Apps wäre wesentlich höher gewesen. Und auch jede Änderung hätte man in zwei Systemen einpflegen müssen. Die PWA ist der ideale Kompromiss, sowohl in der Funktionalität für den User als auch für uns in der Pflege über das WordPress-Backend. "

— Dr. Mathias Brandstädter, Pressesprecher/Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation & Marketing, Uniklinik RWTH Aachen (AöR)

Dr. Mathias Brandstädter

Keyfacts


Progressive Web App

Eine App für alle Systeme - Progressive Web Apps nutzen den Local Storage der Smartphones.

WordPress

Die Inhalte der Progressive Web App werden über das Content Management System WordPress erstellt und bearbeitet.

Datenschutz

Der Datenschutz der neuen Mitarbeitenden ist gewährleistet, da alle Daten der PWA lokal auf dem eigenen Smartphone gespeichert werden.

Gamification

Die Verwendung von Gamification-Elementen animiert die neuen Mitarbeitenden spielerisch zu einer Nutzung der Onboarding-PWA.

Kontaktanfrage
Schicken Sie uns eine Nachricht, wenn Sie mehr zu unseren Referenzen wissen wollen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.
Telefon: 0241 990 9800
Kontaktanfrage